top of page

Week 3 Progress: Habits of Mind


painting brushes

Curiosity

This class has made me more curious and I find myself going online to search more about some assignments like Beauty and the Beast. Now that I have analyze the gender roles and beauty standards in the 2017 Beauty and the Beast movie, I want to rewatch the 1991 animation film to comprare them both. I am curious to see the differences and similarities in the movies knowing that as a society we have progressed some much.


Openness

I never realized that ads sell more than just the products they are sponsoring until after watching Jean Kilbourne's lecture, Killing Us Softly 4. Now that I am aware of this, I think of commercials and billboards differently. I analyze them more to find out what else they are displaying beyond promoting the product.


Engagement

When I am completing my assignments, I try my very best to be fully engage in them and avoid any distractions. I have noticed that it helps me better understand the text. Also the theme of this class is very interesting to me, so I enjoy the assignments.


Creativity

This website has allowed me to be creative. I have added my personal touch to my website along with trying to match the theme of this class. The color scheme of my website are neutral soft pink tone colors and I try to make my images match that, along with disney theme. I wouldn't have thought that creating a website, specially for a school assignment would be fun. I look forwards to the weekends to work on my blog post and find pictures on pinterest for my website.


Persistence

Writing is not my strongest skill, however, I try my very best at all my assignments. When I find myself frustrated because I can't put my thoughts into formal writing, I take a step back from the assignments and try to recollect my thoughts one at at time.


Flexibility

I have really tried to create a schedule to do my assignments on time which helps me stay organized in case there is any need to do any last minute changes.


Responsibility

Throughout these past few week, I have organized myself in order to stay on top of my assignments. I would underestimate the time needed for each assignment, which would cause me to do things rushed and/or late. I have learned to space out my work and to tell myself that it is okay to not finish my assignment in one sitting.


Metacognition *reflection*

Each week, I reflect on my work style and acknowledge my errors. I tell myself to be honest and not only reflect on my errors but also on my accomplishments. I try to find solutions to the errors I made and work on them the following week.



Comments


bottom of page