top of page

The End

The final blog post.

sea waves GIF

Welcome to my last blog post. I have had a great time in this course. I have learned and improved my writing and reading techniques. Along with that, I have also expanded my knowledge on how Disney films have contributed to the social construction of gender roles.


Transformative Learning


The theme of this has helped me understand the term social construction. Prior to this class, I have heard of the word a few times, but did not notice the meaning. Now that I understand it, I am able to realize how our gender roles are socially constructed. On top of that, I see how disney and the entertainment industry in general play a huge role in spreading those gender norms. Before, I would just watch tv without really noticing the bigger picture. Now when watching tv, I will become an active viewer and analyze how they depict gender roles. It goes further than just shows, it is in the commercials, and billardboard stands all around us. Like Jean Kilbourne mentions, I absorb what I see unconsciously. Now that I am aware of that, I try to look past it and let society control and define beauty and gender roles.


Along with learning new concepts, I also learned more about myself as a writer and the importance of a writing process. There are many key steps to developing a successful essay. Back then, I would not be confident in my writing because I would not do as many steps. However, I have learned all the steps: research, outline, draft, and self-edit are necessary to feel more confident in my writing and are extremely helpful. I will continue to follow this process for my future classes.


Taking Stock-- Planning for the future

Although I did have a great learning experience, I also ran into some problems. I had some trouble with the reading assignments. The main problem is that I was able to read but not understand exactly what I was reading. I would have difficulty fully analyzing and understanding the text. However slowly and with the help of the connect slice pie chart, I would learn new methods. One helpful technique was to break the reading into sections so that I can stay more focused. Breaking into sections, would allow me to put more focus on that particular while at the same time making sure my mind would not wander off. Although I have made some improvement, I will keep practicing my reading and comprehension skills.


Another issue that I encountered was managing my time. I would not space out my work effectively and although I would get it done, it was not my best work. The problem was that I did not have an effective study/work schedule. However, I would like to change those habits and in the future, create a schedule from the beginning of the quarter that I know will work for me. I hope to continue growing as a writer and as a person.





Thank you for following my writing journey!



Commentaires


bottom of page