top of page

Week 2 Reflection: Learning

Throughout week 2, I started practicing my grammar, reading, and writing.

woman holding a book, next to a coffee mug

I started off the week by watching and taking notes on Jean Kilbourne's lecture which talked about ads demonstrating and teaching gender values. After watching the lecture, I went back through my notes and selected 5 quotes that included the main ideas from the lecture. This was a great exercise for me to summarize what I watched. The lecture covered so much, so it was a bit challenging to only pick 5 quotes. I picked by trying to see how a quotes covered several sub-topics that Kilbourne went over. Afterwards, I had to summarize the entire lecture in one paragraph. It was a bit easier, since I had already narrowed it down to 5 quotes.


I also spent some time practicing my grammar skills, specifically, learning how to integrate my sources into my writing. I spent around 17 mins doing this exercise and this helped me when writing the exploratory discussion post.

Develop habits for engaged reading"

At the end of the week, the assignments that we did of watching the lecture and reading the essay while also keeping track of the main ideas lead up to helping me write my discussion post. I looked back at my notes to guide my writing post. This is where it is important to take good notes, so that when looking back at it, it is easy to point out the main ideas of the author.


Overall thoughts of the week

Space out my work, come back to it

Looking back at this week, I want to space out my work more and not underestimate the amount of time it takes. I struggled fully understanding the last section of the Close Reading Practice: Looking into the Magic Mirror, Haas and Trapdeo. I thought I would read the essay smoothly and would understand it, but that did not really happen. I was super focused and engaged in the reading for the most part. However, I noticed that towards the end I was just reading to read and not grasping the concepts. I found myself reading it over to a few times so that I can understand it. I think the reason this happened was because I was trying to finish it and read it in one sit-down. Ultimately, this affected me because I had somewhat of a hard time writing the last 2 paragraphs from the discussion post. I have definitely learned that that I need to space out my work and that its okay to take a break from the reading and then come back again to finish it.

Comments


bottom of page