top of page

The Starting Stage


market of clay pots

Welcome to my first blog. Follow along for the journey.


Who am I?


Hello everyone! My name is Melissa Marcial and I am from Los Angeles, California. I am studying at the University of California, Irvine and am majoring in Public Health Science. Some of my favorite activities are going on hikes with my dog and watching Vampire Dairies. I have a presentation linked so you can get to know me a bit more.


Pervious Writing Course


My last writing course was in highschool. I do not remember much of it. It was just a regular english class. We would read book and write an analysis about it. I did not feel like a learned any new techniques or skills in that class.


Self Assessment Course Elements of the Class

As a writer, I do not feel very confident in my work. Growing up, english was not my first language. I grew up speaking spanish in my household and I grew an insecurity displaying my writing to others because I did not think I was a good as them. I feel as if I am not a strong writer, my grammar can definitely be improved, transitions are also a bit rough, and I tend to have some trouble formulating my thoughts into proper sentences. I find it difficult for me to write a formal college level essay. I know I can definitely improve my writing skills.


Language and Grammar Diagnostic at Connect

I did not do as well as I was hoping. Then again, while taking the diagnostic exam, I found myself stuck between two responses. Looking at the results, I noticed the majority of questions I got wrong had to do with selecting the sentence with correct punctuation. However, I would say I got questions right and wrong regarding the same topic. I did excel in the questions that covered pronoun references, independent clause. Overall, I feel like my result were a bit scattered.


Course Elements of the Class The objective of this class is to communicate better specifically in our writing. We must all fully engage in our writing and reading each week to not only do well in the class, but to also improve as a writer. Each week, we will spend 12-14 hours on assignments. It is also important to meet with the instructor for help when we are stuck. We will put together a writing portfolio to display our writing assignments that we completely throughout the quarter, in order, demonstrate our improvements. The grade contract clearly outlines we will be"graded" in the class. It states the requirements in order to receive a B or higher in the class.

Comentarios


bottom of page